Experience the breathtaking scenery of the area's most magnificent waterfalls and canyon. The site pays tribute to the historic days of the great log drives, and a 3000ft wooden log slide. Explore the Coulonge Falls on well maintained pedestrian trails, footbridges, and lookouts. Bring a picnic, shop for souvenirs or browse the many logging artifacts.
Chutes Coulonge is a beautiful, historic site that is managed and maintained by a non profit organization. They use all monies collected through admission, souvenir sales and canteen sales to preserve, maintain and develop this site and the various activities hosted annually.
The Chute Coulonge Board of Directors is comprosed of 8 voting members who are appointed or elected to designated seats.
Origin of the name Coulonge
The first trading post on the Upper Ottawa River was established by Louis D`Ailleboust, Sieur de Coulonge and Argentenay, third Governor General of New France. He came to Canada in 1645 to worked with Maisoneuve in the building of Montreal. By 1653, Louis` interest in fishing and the fur trade led him to establish the trading post on the Ottawa river, west of the mouth of the Coulonge, which bears his name. This post became the North West Company in 1795, by 1802 was privately held by a company called XYZ and finally in 1821 was owned and operated by the Hudson's Bay Company until 1855 when the trading post was no longer operational.